top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJulie McDonald

Music: Before & After the Pandemic

On Thursday, March 12th, 2020, the Robinson High School Bands (Concert 3, Concert 4, & Symphonic) performed a concert in Russell Theatre at Robinson Secondary School in preparation for their upcoming assessment the following week.  The hall was packed with parents & siblings to hear this music in case they were working and couldn’t attend the actual assessment.  Music performed for assessment is unique in that it has to follow specific VBODA guidelines.  Many of the selections after assessment would not be played for the Spring Concert, so for parents, this was the one time to see the final product of the students' practice since January.  Luckily, our winter was mild this year, so this was probably one of the most consistent years of rehearsals the bands have ever had.


For me, I had been attending these pre-assessment concerts since 2012, from the time when my oldest son, Ben, was a freshman bass trombonist in the band.  It was also my fourth year teaching all the flute players at Robinson, grades 7-12, which coincided with my younger son, Scott’s, freshman year in 2016.  The Seniors graduating this year, my son included, were my first class of students I would have taught throughout their high school experience.  


Words cannot truly express the pride & joy I felt hearing the flutists perform.  It goes without saying I was, of course, also proud of my son, for that is always a given, but as a teacher, I am always scrutinizing my efforts and wanting to improve.  The pre-assessment concert is also an opportunity for me to give the directors any final feedback before they are judged the next week. 


I honestly had nothing to tell them.  The flutes played with a clear, supported sound, and as a result, their intonation was the best it’s ever been.  The pieces in each band challenged the flutists rhythmically, stylistically, dynamically, and pushed their technical capabilities to the limit.  All of these musical elements were masterfully executed. Flute solos in every band,  highlighting not just the first chair players, but flutists throughout the section, were projected confidently.  In all the concerts I have attended since 2012, this was the absolute best I had heard the Robinson flutists perform.  


On Friday, March 13th all music came to a screeching halt.  FCPS cancelled school due to rising cases of COVID-19.  We waited day to day to see what would happen with All State, Solo & Ensemble, Spring Concerts, Prom, & Graduation.  One by one, everything was cancelled.  Classes went online.  Mentally, it was extremely depressing to go from one of the best teaching moments of my career to just nothing.  I had to figure something out with the flutes to keep the momentum going, especially for the two Seniors, Jessica & Mackenzie, who now had nothing to look forward to for the duration of their high school experience.  


Virtual Flute Choir became the solution.



9 views0 comments
bottom of page